Delhi Metro Pink Line: Safety inspection on South Campus-Lajpat Nagar section on July 23, 2018

A stretch of the Delhi Metro’s Pink Line, from South Campus to Lajpat Nagar, is likely to be inspected on July 23, 2018 and if successful, thrown open to the public in August

An over eight-kilometre stretch of the Delhi Metro’s Pink Line, from Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus to Lajpat Nagar stations, will be inspected by the Commissioner for Metro Rail Safety (CMRS) on July 23, 2018, a Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) official said, on July 14, 2018. The inspection will pave the way for opening of the section, which is likely to be inaugurated early next month, the official said.

See also: Delhi Metro’s Pink Line inaugurated, government to clear Phase-IV soon

The 8.10-km-long section has six stations, including two interchange stations at INA and Lajpat Nagar. The new stations are Sir Vishveshariah Moti Bagh, Bhikhaji Cama Place, Sarojini Nagar, INA, South Extension and Lajpat Nagar. The INA station will be an interchange facility with the Yellow Line and Lajpat Nagar station with the Violet Line.

With the opening of this section, the Majlis Park to Lajpat Nagar section will become 29.66 kms long and the entire operational span of the DMRC will reach 296 kms, with 214 stations. The first corridor of the Pink Line, from Majlis Park to South Campus, was opened on March 14, 2018, connecting north and south campuses of the Delhi University on the DMRC network for the first time. This corridor is part of the 59-km-long Majlis Park to Shiv Vihar corridor (Pink Line).


Was this article useful?
  • 😃 (0)
  • 😐 (0)
  • 😔 (0)