PM Modi lays the foundation stone for Mumbai Metro Lines 10, 11 And 12

Prime minister Narendra Modi, has laid the foundation stones for three new Mumbai Metro Lines – 10, 11, and 12, which will serve the island city as well as the MMR

Prime minister Narendra Modi, has laid the foundation stones for three Metro Lines – 10, 11, and 12, that will serve the city and also the MMR. While the 9.2-km long Gaimukh to Shivaji Chowk (Mira Road) Metro-10 corridor and 20.7-km long Kalyan to Taloja Metro-12 corridor will serve the region; the 12.8-km long Wadala to Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus Metro-11 corridor, will be for commuters travelling to South Mumbai from the central suburb Wadala.

Along with the metro lines, the PM also laid the foundation stone for Metro Bhavan at Aarey Colony. This 154-meter 32-storeyed centre will control a total network of 337 kms that will operate in the city of Mumbai and its Metropolitan Region. Prime minister Narendra Modi also launched an indigenously-built metro coach to be used by the upcoming Mumbai metro network. The coach, is the first in the list of 500 to be delivered to the Mumbai Metro Rail Corporation, and has been built by Bharat Earth Movers (BEML) at its Bengaluru facility, in 75 days.

It can be noted that the financial capital is catching up with the national capital after decades, in modern public transport and is pumping in over Rs 1.2 lakh crores to build 14 metro corridors stretching 337-km over the next decade.


PM Modi lays the foundation stone for Mumbai Metro Line 5 and Line 9

Work on the Mumbai Metro’s Thane-Bhiwandi-Kalyan (Metro-5) and the Dahisar-Mira Bhayander (Metro-9) corridors commenced on December 18, 2018, with the projects expected to be completed by 2022

December 18, 2018: Prime minister Narendra Modi, on December 18, 2018, laid the foundation stones for two metro lines in the Mumbai Metropolitan Region (MMR). At an event held in the megapolis, months ahead of the crucial general elections in 2019, Modi kick-started work on the ambitious Thane-Bhiwandi-Kalyan (Metro-5) and the Dahisar-Mira Bhayander (Metro-9) in Kalyan, a Mumbai suburb, which will see investments of over Rs 15,000 crores. Accompanied by state chief minister Devendra Fadnavis and union urban development minister Hardeep Singh Puri, Modi laid the foundation stones for the projects.

The Rs 8,416-crore, 24.9-km-long Thane-Bhiwandi-Kalyan metro corridor (Metro-5) is expected to carry around 2.29 lakh commuters daily by 2021, with the entire system designed for six-coach trains. The corridor will have 17 stations. The 10.3-km elevated Dahisar-Mira Bhayander corridor (Metro-9) comprising eight stations, is expected to be completed by 2022 and the cost of the project is estimated at Rs 6,607 crores. Both the projects are being executed by the Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA).

See also: MMRDA’s jurisdiction to be expanded, Mumbai Metro Operations Corp to be set up

As per the proposal, Metro-9 will be integrated with Metro-7 (Dahisar to Andheri) and Metro-2A (Dahisar to DN Road) along with the proposed Rs 3,600-crore Gaimukh-Shivaji Chowk (Mira Road or Metro-10). The tendering process to appoint general consultants and contractors for civil works for Metro-9 is in progress and is expected to commence from March 2019. Currently, the north-western suburbs of Mira-Bhayander are connected to Mumbai via the suburban railway line.

At present, work on several metro corridors is underway across the megapolis, including the Dahisar-DN Nagar (Metro-2A), DN Nagar-Mankhurd (Metro-2B), Andheri east-Dahisar (Metro-7), Colaba-Bandra-Seepz (Metro-3), the elevated Wadala-Kasarvadavali (Metro 4) and the Swami Samarth Nagar-Jogeshwari-Vikhroli (Metro-6).



Mumbai Metro lines 5 and 6 finally approved

The Maharashtra government has approved the fifth (Thane-Bhiwandi-Kalyan) and sixth (Swami Samarth Nagar-Jogeshwari-Kanjurmarg-Vikhroli) metro corridors in Mumbai, linking the major industrial and commercial hubs in and around the city

October 25, 2017: In a major move to improve the transport network in Mumbai, the Maharashtra government, on October 24, 2017, approved two more metro rail lines with an aggregate value of Rs 15,088 crores, linking major industrial and commercial hubs in and around the metropolis. The Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA), the nodal agency for the development of the metro network in the megapolis, had proposed the construction of a 24-km Thane-Bhiwandi-Kalyan Metro-5 corridor and 14.5-km Swami Samarth Nagar-Jogeshwari-Kanjurmarg-Vikhroli Metro-6 corridor. The state cabinet approved the two elevated corridor projects, a statement issued by the Chief Minister’s Office (CMO) said. Both the approved metro corridors, designed for operating six-coach trains, link major industrial and commercial hubs along their routes, the release said.

The 24-km-long and Rs 8,416-crore Thane-Bhiwandi-Kalyan Metro-5 corridor, will be completely elevated and have 17 stations. The 17 proposed stations on this corridor are Kalyan APMC, Kalyan station, Sahajanand Chowk, Durgadi Fort, Kon Gaon, Gove Gaon MIDC, Rajnouli village, Temghar, Gopal Nagar, Bhiwandi, Dhamankar Naka, Anjur Phata, Purna, Kalher, Kasheli, Balkumbh Naka and Kapurbawdi. The project is expected to be completed within 41 months (by 2021) and the frequency of metro trains on the route will be one train every five minutes, the release said. Each train running on the corridor, is expected to clock daily ridership of around 2.29 lakhs by 2021. The initial minimum fare on the route will be Rs 10 and maximum Rs 50. The project will be implemented by the MMRDA. The Metro-5 corridor will eventually connect with the Metro-4 line of Wadala-Thane-Kasarwadavli and Metro-11 corridor between Taloja and Kalyan.

See also: MMRDA clears Mumbai Metro’s Line 5 and Line 6

The sixth metro line, which will link the western suburbs with their eastern counterparts, will be the second west-east metro corridor, after the already operational Versova-Andheri-Ghatkopar section, it added.  The 14.5-km-long Metro-6 corridor, is expected to cost Rs 6,672 crore and will have 13 stations. These stations are: Swami Samarth Nagar, Adarsh Nagar, Momin Nagar, JVLR, Shyam Nagar, Maha Kali Caves, SEEPZ village, Saki Vihar Road, Ram Baug, Powai Lake, IIT Powai, Kanjurmarg West and Vikhroli on the Eastern Express Highway (EEH).

The much needed west-east corridor will link the hitherto not connected areas like JVLR, SEEPZ, Saki Vihar Road, Powai Lake, IIT Powai and Kanjurmarg. Besides this, the Metro-6 corridor will connect SV Road, Western Express Highway, Jogeshwari-Vikhroli Link Road, LBS Marg and Eastern Express Highway. The Metro-6 corridor earlier was planned to link Jogeshwari-Vikhroli to Kanjurmarg. However, it was extended in the west to Swami Samarth Nagar, linking Metro-2 corridor and the entire western suburbs. The 18.6-km Metro 2-A route is between Dahisar east and DN Nagar in Andheri east. By linking this corridor with Metro-6, the entire corridor length becomes 33 kms. The route will have its car depot at Kanjurmarg.

Out of the total Rs 6,716 crores project cost for Metro-6, MMRDA’s share is Rs 3,195 crores and the state government will contribute Rs 1,820 crores. The remaining, Rs 1,700 crores, will be a loan component. The Metro-6 corridor will be linked with the Western and Central Railways’ suburban network, Metro 2-A (Dahisar-DN Nagar), Metro-7 (Dahisar-Andheri), Metro-4 (Wadala-Thane-Kasarwadavli) and Metro-3 (Colaba-Bandra-SEEPZ) corridors, thus, creating the longest metro corridor in the Mumbai Metropolitan Region (MMR). The initial minimum fare on the Metro 6 route will be Rs 10 and maximum at Rs 30.


Was this article useful?
  • 😃 (0)
  • 😐 (0)
  • 😔 (0)