All you need to know about the MMRDA

The MMRDA was formed in 1975 to ensure balanced development of the Mumbai Metropolitan Region

In order to provide planned development to the entire region of Mumbai and its nearby suburbs, the Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA) was formed in 1975. The body was given the responsibility of planning and coordinating the development activities in the entire region. The MMRDA is governed by the Maharashtra urban development minister. The Authority is also responsible for the growth of new urban centres, implementation and execution of strategic projects and to make efforts to project the MMR as an economically developed region, by providing high-grade infrastructure and standard of living to the residents.


Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority MMRDA


Roles and responsibilities of MMRDA

  • Preparation of regional development plans.
  • Providing financial assistance for significant regional projects.
  • Providing help to the local authorities and their infrastructure projects.
  • Coordinating and executing of projects and/or schemes in the MMR.
  • Restricting any activity that could adversely affect appropriate development of the MMR.
  • Monitoring key projects and suggesting improvements, in sectors like transport, housing, water supply and the environment.

Source: MMRDA website


Jurisdiction of MMRDA

The MMRDA has jurisdiction over 4,355 sq kms of area, which consists of:

Eight municipal corporations:

  1. Greater Mumbai
  2. Thane
  3. Kalyan-Dombivali
  4. Navi Mumbai
  5. Ulhasnagar
  6. Bhiwandi-Nizampur
  7. Vasai-Virar
  8. Mira-Bhayandar

Nine municipal councils:

  1. Ambernath
  2. Kulgaon-Badlapur
  3. Matheran
  4. Karjat
  5. Panvel
  6. Khopoli
  7. Pen
  8. Uran
  9. Alibaug

More than 1,000 villages in Thane and Raigad districts.

Check out price trends in Mumbai


Major projects by MMRDA

Mumbai Metro

Around nine metro routes are currently under construction, which will ease the traffic hassles between the eastern and western suburbs and reduce the journey time between some of the important hubs of the region. The MMRDA Mumbai Metro Lines are:

Line 1: Versova-Andheri-Ghatkopar

Line 2A: Dahisar-DN Nagar

Line 2B: DN Nagar-Mandale

Line 4: Wadala-Kasarvadavali

Line 5: Thane-Bhiwandi-Kalyan

Line 6: Lokhandwala-Jogeshwari-Vikhroli-Kanjurmarg

Line 7: Andheri East-Dahisar East

Line 9: Extension of Line 7, i.e., from Andheri to Mumbai Airport and Dahisar to Mira Bhayandar

Read all about the Mumbai Metro corridors


Mumbai Monorail

The Mumbai Monorail is India’s first monorail line and operates between Jacob Circle in south Mumbai and Chembur in eastern Mumbai. It was built at an expense of Rs 3,000 crores, as a feeder service to the existing Mumbai suburban railway line. The line was formally inaugurated in February 2014. The plan to extend the Mumbai monorail till Worli is under consideration currently.


Mumbai Trans-Harbour Link

Planned to decongest the island city, by improving connectivity between south Mumbai and Navi Mumbai, the Mumbai Trans-Harbour Link Road, also known as Nhava-Shewa Link Road is yet to see the light of day. While the construction is ongoing, the project is scheduled for inauguration in 2022. This will be India’s longest sea-bridge.


Multi-modal corridor from Virar to Alibaug

Planned as a 126-km corridor to link the NH-8, the Bhiwandi bypass, the NH-3, the NH-4 and NH-4B, the Mumbai-Pune Expressway, the NH-17, etc., this route will provide the much-needed connectivity to link seven growth corridors of MMR which include Virar, Bhiwandi, Kalyan, Dombivali, Panvel, Taloja and Uran.


Sahar Elevated Road

Completed in 2014, this road directly links the Western Express Highway to the Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport. This road was planned due to lack of direct connectivity to the International airport and continuous increase in traffic towards the same.


Eastern Freeway

The expressway project was planned to facilitate smooth connectivity between south Mumbai and Thane-Nashik and Panvel-Pune. This is a signal-free road which cuts traveling time between the island city and the suburbs. It is 16.9 kms long and was opened for public use in 2013.

See also: Major Mumbai infra projects that will transform the city’s skyline


MMRDA offices near you

Bandra-Kurla Complex

MMRDA Office Building,

Bandra-Kurla Complex,

C-14 & 15, E Block Bandra (east),

Mumbai – 400051

Phone: +91-22-26594000

Fax no: +91-22-2659 1264



Sub-Regional Office, Thane,

Multipurpose Hall,

2nd Floor, Near Oswal Park, Pokharan Road,

No 2, Majiwada,

Thane (west) – 400601

Phone: +91-22-21712195

Fax no: +91-22-25418265



MMRDA Divisional Office,

Old Municipal Building,

Tilak Chauk,

Kalyan (west)

Phone: +91-0251-2200298


Cr-2 Office

Inox Theater, CR-2 Building,

9th Floor, Opposite Bajaj Bhavan,

Nariman Point,

Mumbai – 400021

Phone: +91-22-66157390

Fax no: +91-22-66157429



Wadala Truck Terminal,

A1 Building, Near RTO,


Mumbai – 400037

Phone: +91-22-24062124

Fax no: +91-22-24036432



What is included in Mumbai Metropolitan Region?

The Mumbai Metropolitan Region includes 8 municipal corporations, 9municipal councils and numerous villages in the districts of Thane and Raigad.

What does MMRDA mean?

MMRDA stands for Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority, which is responsible for infrastructure development in the MMR.

Is Navi Mumbai under MMRDA?

Yes, Navi Mumbai falls under the jurisdiction of the MMRDA.


Was this article useful?
  • 😃 (0)
  • 😐 (0)
  • 😔 (1)