DMRC Delhi metro route map 2022 details, and latest updates: All about Delhi metro rail network

DMRC is one of the leading metro rail agencies in the world, which has been involved in metro rail and monorail projects across countries. Check out the DMRC Delhi metro route map and complete details of Delhi metro rail network.

Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) is one of the pioneer organisations in India that paved the way for developing the country’s biggest metro rail network. Apart from planning and developing new metro route extensions in the national capital, the technical expertise of the DMRC is actively sought by various bodies, domestically and internationally. Started in 1995, the DMRC is a state-centre public sector company, which is also responsible for operating the day-to-day functions of the Delhi Metro.

As per the DMRC, work is in progress on the three priority Metro corridors of Delhi Metro Phase 4 project, and it is to expected to be completed by the year 2025. In the approved segment of the Delhi Metro Phase 4 project, new metro lines covering a length of 65 kilometres will be developed across the three different Delhi Metro corridors with a total of 45 metro stations. The new Delhi metro routes will enhance the inter-connectivity among the operational Metro lines. The three corridors RK Ashram to Janakpuri West, Mukundpur to Maujpur and Aerocity to Tughlakabad received approval from the cabinet.


Delhi Metro route network map

DMRC Delhi metro route map


See also: Bangalore metro map, routes, stations and latest updates


DMRC route: Delhi Metro Network details

Delhi Metro Red Line

The Delhi Metro Red Line commercial operations began in 2002. This was the first line to become operational. The entire DMRC metro route was made operational in five phases. The first phase was between Shahdara and Tis Hazari, followed by Tis Hazari-Inderlok, Inderlok-Rithala and Dilshad Garden-Shahdara. The latest phase between Dilshad Garden and Shaheed Sthal became operational in 2019. The Red Line now connects Shaheed Sthal in Sahibabad with Rithala.


Delhi Metro Yellow Line

The Delhi Metro Yellow Line connects HUDA City Centre with Jahangirpuri. The route was made operational in six stages, starting with Vishwavidyalaya-Kashmere Gate, followed by Kashmere Gate-Central Secretariat, Vishwavidyalaya-Jahangirpuri, HUDA City Centre-Qutab Minar, Central Secretariat-Qutab Minar and Jahangirpuri-Samaypur Badli. The first route began in 2004 while the last stretch was started in 2015. This route connects two different ends of Delhi NCR and is one of the longest routes on the DMRC network.

See also: All about Mumbai metro line 3

Delhi Metro Blue Line

There are two routes under the Blue Line. One connects Dwarka with Noida Electronic City and other with Vaishali. This line was also made operational in multiple phases and links with a number of other metro routes along the corridor. The Blue Line operates as one between Dwarka and Yamuna Bank and diverges towards Noida and Vaishali from here. This line was first operationalised in 2005.


Delhi Metro Green Line

This route connects Inderlok (Red Line) with Mundka, which has now been extended till Bahadurgarh. The line also has connectivity to the Blue Line through an interchange at Ashok Park main. The latest extension was made operational in 2018, which connected Delhi with the outskirts of Haryana, giving a major push to real estate markets along the corridor.

On March 29, 2022, the DMRC inaugurated the first halt station at Punjabi Bagh West Metro station to provide an interchange facility between the green and pink lines of the Delhi metro rail network. This is the first time the DMRC has developed this kind of station linking two operational corridors. Earlier, the two metro corridors crossed each other without a halt facility. As per officials, there were demands from the citizens to provide an interchange facility. This will benefit commuters travelling to satellite towns like Bahadurgarh and outer Delhi areas including Nangloi and Mundka.


Delhi Metro Violet Line

The Violet Line connects Kashmere Gate (Red, Yellow Line) with Faridabad, another NCR town in Haryana. The route was first made operational in 2010 and since then, seven major extensions have come up on the corridor. The latest extension was opened between Badarpur and Ballabgarh in 2018.


Delhi Metro Pink Line

This is one of the recent metro routes to become operational under the Delhi Metro Phase-III. The Delhi Metro Pink Line route is a circular line that links all the networks and will connect Majlis Park with Shiv Vihar. The line has been planned, to be operationalised in two tranches – Mayur Vihar Phase-1 to Majlis Park and Trilokpuri to Shiv Vihar. The section connecting Trilokpuri to Mayur Vihar Phase I became operational on August 6, 2021.


Delhi Metro Magenta Line

The Delhi Metro Magenta Line is another route that connects Noida with the south and western regions of Delhi. The Magenta Line connects Botanical Garden with Janakpuri West via south Delhi, unlike the Delhi Metro Blue Line that passes through Central Delhi. The Magenta Line became completely operational in 2018.

See also: All about Mumbai metro route

Delhi Metro Grey Line

This is the shortest route on the Delhi Metro network. The Delhi Metro Grey Line earlier had three stations that became operational in October 2019, connecting Dwarka with Najafgarh, an urban village on the outskirts of the NCR. It now has four stations – Dwarka, Nangli, Najafgarh and Dhansa Bus Stop.

The 1.2-km Najafgarh-Dhansa Bus Stand stretch of the Grey Line became operational on September 18, 2021. It was earlier scheduled for inauguration on August 6, 2021, along with the Trilokpuri-Mayur Vihar I stretch. The route will provide metro connectivity to around 50 villages in the Najafgarh area.


Airport Metro Express Line

This is one of the fastest lines on the network, which connects the New Delhi railway station with the Indira Gandhi International Airport Terminal-3. The Delhi Metro Airport Line became operational in 2011 and is also known as the Delhi Metro Orange Line. This route offers the fastest way to reach the airport from central Delhi.


Delhi Metro Phase-IV

Approved in 2018, the much-awaited Phase 4 of the Delhi Metro includes six corridors, out of which three have been listed as ‘priority’ corridors. These three corridors are:


Janakpuri-RK Ashram


There will be 17 underground and 29 elevated stations in the three corridors, whose total length will be 61 kms (22 kms underground and 39.320 kms elevated).

See also: All about Delhi Metro Phase 4 stations list


DMRC objectives

According to the DMRC official portal, here are some mission statements that the agency works on:

  • To cover all of Delhi and its adjoining areas with a metro rail network.
  • To serve ‘differently abled’ commuters with passion.
  • To offer a top-quality transportation system in Asia, in terms of safety, reliability, punctuality, quality and responsiveness.
  • To make the Delhi Metro network self-sustainable.



Is DMRC govt or private organisation?

DMRC is a government organisation, with equal participation from the central and state governments.

How many routes are open in Delhi Metro?

There are nine routes which are currently operational on the Delhi Metro network.

(With inputs from Surbhi Gupta).

Was this article useful?
  • 😃 (0)
  • 😐 (0)
  • 😔 (0)